Header Ads

eBay Worldwide
Breaking News

FIFA elects new president – Gianni Infantino

Gianni Infantino has been elected as the new president of FIFA, succeeding the banned Sepp Blatter on a term until 2019. Infantino, the UEFA general secretary, received 115 votes in Friday's second round of voting, more than the required majority of 104 votes from the 207 members.

FIFA presidents
1904-1906 Robert Guerin
1906-1918 Daniel B Woolfall
1921-1954 Jules Rimet
1954-1955 Rodolphe W Seeldrayers
1955-1961 Arthur Drewry
1961-1974 Stanley Rous
1974-1998 Joao Havelange
1998-2016 Joseph S Blatter
2016- Gianni Infantino
The other favourite, Sheikh Salman Bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa of Bahrain, had 88 votes.
Prince Ali Bin Al Hussein of Jordan had four and Frenchman Jerome Champagne none.
The 45-year-old former lawyer saluted voters by patting his right hand over his heart, and had to compose himself before starting his acceptance speech. "We will restore the image of FIFA and the respect of FIFA. And everyone in the world will applaud us," Infantino said, referring to bribery and corruption investigations that have rocked football's governing body and forced Blatter out of office after more than 17 years as president.
"I want to be the president of all of you ... It is time to return to football. FIFA has gone through hard times, crisis times," said Infantino. "These times are over ... We have to win back the respect, and focus on this wonderful game that is football." In the first round, Infantino surprising led with 88 votes. Sheikh Salman had 85 votes, Prince Ali 27, and Champagne seven.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.